The Divisions of NASCAR

Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about The Basics of NASCAR and other NASCAR topics.

How is NASCAR organized?

The Divisions of NASCAR

NASCAR consists of three national series: The Nextel Cup Series, The Busch Series and the Craftsman Truck Series. NASCAR also oversees four regional series as well. The NASCAR Grand National Division, which is divided into the Busch East and West Series race cars similar to the Busch Series. NASCAR also sanctions two open wheel series: the Whelen Modified Tour and the Whelen Southern Modified Tour. There is also the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series, a local grassroots division.

The Nextel Cup Series is the most popular and is known as the ‘top-tier' series. Nextel Cup racecars are based on newer model cars. The Busch Series is akin to a triple ‘A' baseball team. The Busch Series is currently the second most popular form of motorsports in America behind the Nextel Cup series. The Craftsman Truck Series has the shortest season of all the National touring series and a small but ever growing loyal fan base.

The racecars used in the Busch Series are similar to those of the Nextel Cup series with the biggest differences being a short wheelbase and a larger spoiler.

The Nextel Cup series is transitioning to the Car Of Tomorrow and when that happens, most likely in 2008, the Busch Series cars will truly be in a league of their own.

The Craftsman Truck Series race newer model pick-up trucks, highly modified, naturally, for racing .



Nobody has commented on this tip yet. Be the first.


URL: (optional)


Not finding the advice and tips you need on this NASCAR Tip Site? Request a Tip Now!

Guru Spotlight
Candi Wingate